Recent Indications:

Durig's Cash Stock Reviews

Durig's Dividend Stock Reviews

Bank CD’s
1.355% mat. 10-26-16

Government Bond
1.747% Aaa/AA+ mat. 9-10-21

Corporate Bond
4.177% Baa2/BB+ mat. 3-15-16

High Yield Bond
13.821% -/- mat. 12-01-14

New Issue Bonds

Foreign/World Bonds:

Australia Bonds
3.240% Aaa/N.A. mat. 2014

Brazil Bonds
6.712% Aaa/AAA mat. 2016

New Zealand Bonds
2.660% Aaa/AAA mat. 2015

Municipal Bonds:

CA Muni Bond
6.276% -/B mat. 8-1-14

FL Muni Bond
3.981% Ba1/- mat. 7-01-13

OR Muni Bond
2.306% -/- mat. 8-01-17

WA Muni Bond
2.666% Baa3/- mat. 12-01-18

 

To learn more call:
(877) 359-5319
or e-mail: info@durig.com

Fixed Income: Categories

Translator

Account Access

PROVIDE A HIGHER LEVEL of service, transparency, and accountability for our investors we selected the following market leading high performance low cost platforms as the custodian holding the investments.

TO ACCESS your Durig Investment Account just click the proper custodian partner.

To set up a NEW ACCOUNT or work with an EXISTING BROKERAGE account at any of the firm below, call 971-327-8847, it's all very easy!

We are currently taking indications for these high institutional Fixed income rates:

Profitable company with over a 7 1/2 % yielding bond that matures in a little over 3 years in the desirable Canadian currency.

See our high yielding, short fixed income portfolios FX1, FX2 and FX3.


Call Toll Free 877-359-5319. These higher yielding bonds could go very quickly, so call or sign up to learn more about them.

Be the first to review these weekly institution high yield bonds in our newsletter.

 

O2Micro International Limited (OIIM) High Cash Stock Review


O2Micro International Limited: OIIM 3.4401 [+0.0201]

More High Cash Stock Reviews

May 11, 2010

O2Micro International Limited (OIIM) Stock Review – A Fabless Semiconductor Company (ADR)
by Randy Durig, CEO of Durig Capital

O2 has built a rock solid balance sheet, delivered several very good quarters with outstanding  execution, and became well positioned in a very exciting higher growth clean energy industry. They have a very low enterprise value, PE and price to sales valuation that increase the  probability that O2 will achieve a higher reward for shareholders!

We selected O2 because it’s one of the select few that fits our model! Our goal is to select, purchase and monitor companies in an effort of gaining outstanding performing investments while minimizing risk for our clients. We will cover part of our review and selection process as well as explain why O2 has currently become one of our selections.

Step 1 – We first search for companies with pristine balance sheets.

O2 has roughly $111.2 million in cash, or $3.18 per ADR, and no long term debt providing O2 with an outstanding balance sheet (especially for a small but fast growing young company and for the Green services, knowing most companies we review in saving energy space have either a poor business model and/or are bankrupt or severely hurt during the economy’s up’s and down’s). O2 appears to have excelled in this downturn.

Step 2 – We like extremely low enterprise values.

Their enterprise value is $137 million for ongoing company operations. They just completed a single quarter with over $37 million in sales and an 11 cent GAAP profit – where revenue increased by 5.2% sequentially and a whopping 50.8% over the previous year period.

Even better yet, O2 generated $8.5 million cash flow from the first quarter. That works out to be about $34 million annually to where O2′s enterprise value is trading at about 4 times free cash flow annualized. Companies that are involved with leveraged buyouts, after removing the cash, might realize this is a very desirable internal cash generation rate.

O2 has been achieving size, scale and gaining several competitive advantages to where they can achieve scale with the many additional new products they are launching. Even though they had many competitors, they were able to achieve possibly the most validating win in the Green industry – being built into the new Apple computer iPad. Having Apple select O2 for their next generation flag ship product, this solidifies O2 as a technology leader in the low power usage “green” chip industry.

Step 3 – Is the operation or enterprise driving value to their shareholders?

O2 receives another yes. They had an outstanding quarter with an 11 cent GAAP profit, which is significantly above the average estimate of 3 cents. Because of both the cost savings in SG&A and the superior growth in top line sales that they have demonstrated, the future earnings for the entire year should be also significantly improved. The current company forecasts revenues to expand 6-10% sequentially with the possibility of holding to slight margin erosion.

Step 4 – Is this a good business?

This is a simple business compared to many other companies we own, even though Piper Jaffery was quoted saying that the “LED market remains a compelling growth opportunity. The LED market was roughly $6B in 2008 and we expect it to triple to $18B in 2013 (43% CAGR). Growth rates this high in markets this large are rare.” Even knowing O2 is leading some key market initiatives like the Apple iPad, we would be just pleased if O2 achieved parity to many other companies in it’s field.

Not only is 02 positioned well in the LED market but it’s also built into many product solutions where a combined effort and focus of both power efficiency and true mobility allows 02 to have what appears to be a very good position in the confluences of very smart, extremely mobile interactive devices between the Apple iPad and Dell notebook (both O2 clients), that are seeing robust growth now and in future forecasts.  

Since O2 is a fabless company, they tend to outperform their fab owner peers when their is excessive production capacity available, like after a hard recession. When fabrications allotment becomes constrained, often the production companies have a stronger cycle. O2 has a very large overall staff of over 60% engineers. They appear proud of this fact, and rightly so if they can always allow the new products released to result in 15% of overall sales and provide such strong revenue growth just shortly after such a strong downturn.

The quarterly business breakdown for 02 is as follows:

  • 55-60% of revenues from consumers;
  • 25-30% from computers;
  • 10-15% from industrial; and,
  • Less than 5% from communication.

Step 5 – Is the Train Wreck and then the fog from the Wreck clearing?

When finding companies around half cash value, often a “Train Wreck” is needed to drive value close to cash. With O2, it was priced in a service market and thought that the prolonged legal battle would never end. They are an ADR based in the Cayman Islands with Chinese roots – knowing that many Asian based ADRs often have lower stock valuation benchmarks than US based companies. Several companies over the last years have announced they would be entering the notebook, monitors and TV back lighting’s market assuming it would hurt O2 margins. What’s so surprising is that after new competition arrived hard recession took hold, a prolonged legal fight ended and now it’s hard to find a time period in O2′s history when the margins were better.

It appears that the increased competition has allowed O2 to advance their game plan allowing to show strong growth just after a major recession.

In Summary

We enjoy companies that can provide outstanding short term execution, while at the same time bring down the costs substantially and attempt to greatly enhance both their growth prospects and business model position with many new products driving their future success.

We believe O2 has value, execution and a balance sheet like those past companies that fit our model, e.g. SONS, SGI, LAB, DIVX, KHD, HCII and WCG. So, we’re hopeful that O2 will have a similar outcome knowing other companies that fit this model have preformed well. O2 has completed two excellent quarters, profitable quarters, and already attained margins over 60%, which was one of their most profitable in several years.

With all the cash, the good business model, profitable execution and high growing company and industry, we still believe O2 is still valued as a model that might not achieve success. Even though we believe O2 is, again, starting to establish itself as an LED, green technology industry and an Apple new product innovator, any one of these achievements in the past have helped companies gain higher valuations. We believe that O2 is undervalued based on the following very basic valuation metrics:

1. Revenue Based

If you value O2 at 3.60 times sales (integrated circuits average) with O2 using a $140 million base sale (or, $13.92 per share) plus the $3.18 in cash currently on the books, it adds up to a $17.10 stock market value.

2. Earnings Based

The integrated circuit industry values the PE ratio for the sector at 23.48. Using the current earning forecast plus the completed quarter, we’re forecasting O2 to have 56 cents. Using the 0.51 times 23.48 we come to a valuation of $11.96 per ADR.  

With both models, the low valuation and especially with their short term superb execution plus good industry, large new product launches, Green position and Apple product leadership, O2 could and should, in our opinion, be valued significantly higher.

Disclosure

Durig Capital owns O2 for itself, clients and related client accounts. We started buying around $6.75 per share.

OIIM News

Yahoo! Finance: OIIM News
Copyright (c) 2014 Yahoo! Inc. All rights reserved.

O2Micro Will Announce First Quarter 2014 Results on April 30, 2014
O2Micro Revises First Quarter 2014 Financial Guidance
Coverage initiated on O2Micro by Northland Capital
O2Micro Revises First Quarter 2014 Financial Guidance
O2Micro's Driving Circuit Topology Issued Japanese Patent
O2Micro's Driving Circuit Topology Issued Japanese Patent
Japanese Patent Office Issues Patent for O2Micro's Power Management Invention
Japanese Patent Office Issues Patent for O2Micro's Power Management Invention
Why O2Micro International (OIIM) Could Be Positioned for a Surge?
O2Micro Shares Worth Triple Current Value
U.S. Patent Issued for O2Micro's Power Converter Controller
O2Micro issued patent for O2Micro's Power Converter Controller
U.S. Patent Issued for O2Micro's Power Converter Controller
Japanese Patent Office Grants O2Micro Patent for Synchronized Data Sampling Systems and Methodology
Japanese Patent Office Grants O2Micro Patent for Synchronized Data Sampling Systems and Methodology
O2Micro International's CEO Discusses Q4 2013 Results - Earnings Call Transcript
O2Micro Reports Fourth Quarter and Fiscal 2013 Financial Results
O2Micro International, A Turnaround Story That Trades Close To Cash Value
O2Micro's Power Source Detection Topology Issued Japanese Patent
O2Micro isued patent in Japan

To know more about this Investment call our specialist at 971-327-8847

 Durig Capital LLC BBB® Accredited Business SealBBB® Accredited A+ Rating

On a scale of A+ to F

Reason for Durig A+ Rating

 

Durig.com | Bond-Yields.com

 

Sign up for our Free Newsletter:

Your Name *

Your Daytime Phone*

Your Email *

* Indicates required

Subject
Free Newsletter Sign-Up. Yes! I want to receive Durig's Income investment e-mails.

Share

If you believe the yields we have shown here are high... You can be among those first to review our next selection! Try our free newsletter

See our high yielding, short fixed income portfolios FX1, FX2 and FX3.

See Bond-Yields.com for the high yielding global bonds
Can you find many country bonds here. Rates Asian Bond Rates Australian Bond Rates Bank Bond Rates Bond Rates Brazil Bond Rates Canadian Bond Rates Convertible Bond Rates Corporate Bond Rates Euro Bond Rates Foreign Bond Rates Foreign Currency Bond Rates Global Bond Rates Government Bond Rates High Yield Bond Rates Hungarian Bond Rates Investment Grade Bond Rates Indian Bond Rates Junk Bond Rates Latin America – South America Bond Rates Mexican Bond Rates Mongolia Bond Rates Municipal Tax Free Bond Rates New Zealand Bond Rates Norway Bond Rates Resource Bond Rates Russian Bonds Rates South African Bond Rates Sovereign Bond Rates Swiss Bond Rates Turkish Bond Rates

4 comments to O2Micro International Limited (OIIM) High Cash Stock Review

  • wirelesstechchen

    Randy, Nice pick again. No question OIIM is a good stock. I like most of the stocks you picked. I own DIVX and SGI also.

    You should take a look these two stocks: CNTF and ACTS. They are also part of my value investment portfolio. You may like them.

  • captain cook

    what you think of SIGM?

  • Randy

    Hi Captain Cook. My first review in a while is it’s a low value, with a lot of cash — it’s not far away from OIIM’s business model. It could be a good one, having a nice business, but I haven’t seen signs of outstanding execution which is an identification that their products are taking off.

    Thanks

  • Randy

    Hi wirelesstechchen.

    ACTS value is very good, it’s hard to find companies with a negative enterprise value. With that said, it’s business appears to be holding steady and not advancing as much as I would like. I’m much more interested in CNTF as it looks pretty good with a negative enterprise value, fair execution, and it’s in the wireless data market in China — not bad. We should all take another look at CNTF, I beleive. Thanks, I like it!

Leave a Reply

  

  

  

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

*